ps classics - celebrating the heritage of broadway and american popular song
Catalog | Cast Recording | Lady Day at Emerson's Bar & Grill - Original Broadway Cast Recording

Lady Day CD Image


Get it on Amazon

Release Date:
 July 15, 2014

This is a two-disc set.

what the critics are saying

One of the greatest performances I ever hope to see
– New York Magazine

☆☆☆☆! A spellbinding, captivating, tour de force!
– Daily News

Stunning and heartbreaking. Audra McDonald gives the performance of her career.
– The Huffington Post

One of the most exquisite and haunting performances of the year!
– Entertainment Weekly

A priceless gem.
– NY1

One of the supreme honors of the Broadway season. It's haunting. Close your eyes and Billie Holiday is back.
– Associated Press

A transcending, moving and daring performance!
– USA Today

Audra McDonald
Lady Day
at Emerson's Bar & Grill

Original Broadway Cast Recording

Experience on disc the performance that won Audra McDonald her unprecedented sixth Tony Award. "One of the greatest performances I ever hope to see" is how New York Magazine described McDonald's portrayal of Billie Holiday in Lady Day at Emerson's Bar & Grill, Lanie Robertson's award-winning play with music dramatizing one of the final concerts in the beloved singer's extraordinary, tragic life. Recorded live at Broadway's Circle in the Square Theatre, the two-disc set features McDonald's "spellbinding, tour-de-force" (NY Daily News) renditions of signature Holiday songs such as "God Bless the Child," "What a Little Moonlight Can Do," "Strange Fruit" and "Taint Nobody's Biz-ness." The Associated Press proclaimed Lady Day at Emerson's Bar & Grill "one of the supreme honors of the Broadway season," while The New York Times delighted in "the pleasure of hearing Ms. McDonald breathe aching life into some of Holiday's greatest songs... with sensitive musicianship and rich seams of feeling that command rapt admiration." Now, "the best 90 minutes you'll ever witness" (NY1) have been preserved on disc by PS Classics, giving audiences the chance to savor "not just one but two of the most extraordinarily gifted dramatic vocalists America has produced" (Los Angeles Times).

sound clips

track listing

Disc One:
  1. Introduction
  2. I Wonder Where Our Love Has Gone
  3. When a Woman Loves a Man
  4. "I’m even glad to be back in Philly..."
  5. "I want to introduce my accompanist..."
  6. What a Little Moonlight Can Do
  7. "We got this contract..."
  8. Crazy He Calls Me
  9. "They used to be hangin’ from the rafters..."
  10. Gimme a Pigfoot (and a Bottle of Beer)
  11. "That was in the early thirties..."
  12. Baby Doll
  13. "I better watch myself here..."
  14. God Bless the Child
  15. "That was for my mama..."

Disc Two:

  1. "Nobody but me ever liked Sonny..."
  2. Foolin’ Myself/Somebody’s on My Mind
  3. Easy Living
  4. "I was singin’ with Artie’s band..."
  5. Strange Fruit
  6. "It’s bad again, Jimmy..."
  7. Blues Break
  8. "Now I’ll take a little break right here..."
  9. 'Tain't Nobody's Biz-ness If I Do
  10. "I want you all to meet Pepi..."
  11. "I was doin’ the bad drugs heavy..."
  12. Don’t Explain / What a Little Moonlight Can Do (Reprise)
  13. Deep Song

you might also like

Porgy and Bess
New Broadway Cast

Jule Styne in Hollywood

Steven Pasquale
Somethin' Like Love

Philip Chaffin
Where Do I Go From You?

110 in the Shade
New Broadway Cast
follow us on twitter join us on facebook

© 2017 PS Classics. All Rights Reserved. | Our Catalog | Notes | About Us | Contact          Site Design by Mark Bakalor

autographed CDs our catalog notes from ps about us contact contact usps classics mailing listtwitter facebook