ps classics - celebrating the heritage of broadway and american popular song
Catalog | Songbook | Jerome Kern: The Land Where the Good Songs Go

The Land Where the Good Songs Go CD Image

Get it on Amazon

This is a two-disc set.

what the critics are saying

“For fans of Jerome Kern, a religious experience. The to-die-for vocal arrangements (by the gifted music director David Loud) included dazzling harmonies, and the sort of whistling, humming and ahhhh-ahhh-ahhhh vocals that nobody seems to do anymore. Among the evening's highlights: a beguiling "In the Heart of the Dark"; a haunted "Go, Little Boat"; the funny and sad "Bill"; quirky comic turns "Let's Begin," "We're Crooks" and "Ain't It Funny...?"; and the reassuring finale "Look for the Silver Lining.”


Jerome Kern: The Land Where the Good Songs Go

Using the astonishingly fresh music of Jerome Kern and the lyrics of over a dozen of his collaborators, including Oscar Hammerstein II, Dorothy Fields, and P.G. Wodehouse, THE LAND WHERE THE GOOD SONGS GO, a new revue, weaves the stories of three couples (how they meet, fall in love, and face life's inevitable challenges) into a theatrical song cycle that sparkles with wit, tenderness, and warmth. A cast of top Broadway talents -- Kate Baldwin, Heidi Blickstenstaff, Rebecca Luker, Philip Chaffin, Graham Rowat and Matthew Scott -- offer delectable renditions of over 30 Kern songs, for which music director David Loud provides brand new vocal arrangements and orchestrations: standards such as “A Fine Romance”, “Long Ago (and Far Away)” “Smoke Gets in Your Eyes,” and “The Way You Look Tonight,” as well as forgotten tunes like "An Irish Husband," "Bill's a Liar," "We're Crooks," "The Subway Express," "Ain't It Funny...?" and "Never Marry a Girl." THE LAND WHERE THE GOOD SONGS GO was first presented in New York City at Merkin Concert Hall in November of 2010, leading Playbill to rave, "For fans of Jerome Kern, [it's] a religious experience."

sound clips

track listing

Disc One:
  1. The Land Where the Good Songs Go
  2. The Subway Express
  3. Ain't It Funny What a Difference Just a Few Drinks Make?
  4. (I'm Looking for) An Irish Husband
  5. Never Marry a Girl
  6. Rolled Into One
  7. How'd You Like to Spoon With Me?
  8. They Didn't Believe Me
  9. Nesting Time in Flatbush
  10. Let's Begin
  11. Interlude #1
  12. Nobody Else But Me
  13. Heaven in My Arms/Dancing Time
  14. I've Taken Such a Fancy to You
  15. We're Crooks

Disc Two:
  1. Now That We Are One
  2. A Fine Romance
  3. The Way You Look Tonight
  4. The Last Time I Saw Paris
  5. My Boy
  6. In the Heart of the Dark / Just Let Me Look at You
  7. Go Little Boat
  8. Interlude #2
  9. All the Things You Are
  10. April Fooled Me
  11. Bill
  12. Bill's a Liar
  13. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
  14. Till the Clouds Roll By / Look For the Silver Lining
  15. Long Ago (And Far Away)

you might also like

Jule Styne in Hollywood

Sweet Little Devil
2012 Studio Cast Recording

The Songs of Jerome Moross

Kitty's Kisses
World Premiere

Philip Chaffin
Where Do I Go From You?
follow us on twitter join us on facebook

© 2017 PS Classics. All Rights Reserved. | Our Catalog | Notes | About Us | Contact          Site Design by Mark Bakalor

autographed CDs our catalog notes from ps about us contact contact usps classics mailing listtwitter facebook